Print Frenzy for S/S 2012

Prints are always going to be on trend each season. The question is, what kind of prints are on trend this season?  From washy pastel light tones to clashing bold prints, they have been all over the runway for S/S 2012.

One of my all time favourite designers Mary Katrantzou who really stood out amongst the crowd this season with their strong busy unique prints.  I loved how the variety of prints used on one garment really contrasted against the others, creating quite a unique look. However, they still managed to keep the garments wearable with their use of color and simple tailoring.  Illustrations used on the garments included metal drums, bolts, car parts and tin cans met cherry blossoms, fields of flowers, coral and other marine life – all on a single dress.
Going the other way, there where some really beautiful romantic pastel prints showcased by designer Versace.  I am an enormous fan of Versace they couldn’t go wrong in my book.  Spring/Summer 2012 for them, showed a gentler side to their brand, with soft sweet pastel shades mixed with very elegant ladylike silhouettes, they‘ve got it right.  The illustrations used on the actual prints where very summery indeed, containing starfish and sea-shell embellishments alongside the studded seahorse shapes are enough to drive anyone to the poolside or beach.

Taking inspiration from the print trend I produced my S/S scarf collection. In keeping with my line of 1940‘s inspired dresses, I added my signature spitfire design, mixing my print with the bright colours I love to use and are right on trend. I also used bright florals for a beautiful summery look that will update any look and match in with any outfit with their variety of colours as well as being totally unique!

Leave a Reply

