Product Review: Stay Flawless!

If you haven’t heard of ‘Stay Flawless’ yet, what planet are you from?! It’s only the best primer I think Benefit Cosmetics have come up with yet.

stay1Benefit Cosmetics Stay Flawless 15 hr primer

This product comes with pretty big promises from Benefit Cosmetics. To be honest, when any cosmetic’s company promises something as huge as ‘Keeping your Foundation in place for 15 hours’ – I take that kind of promise pretty seriously and almost find myself setting out to prove them wrong. So, we’ve been having a lovely heatwave in Northern Ireland recently, during which I have been able to sit out in the sun getting some of my writing done, so I thought that would be the perfect time to test it out. Notice that the promise doesn’t state that it will keep your foundation in place…. if its nice cool dry weather…. It states that it will keep it in place, period!

little_miss_know_it_all_by_toysoldierdesigns-d4bonxjSo off I went on my ‘Little Miss Know-It-All Quest’ feeling very sure that out 30 degree heat would make my foundation slide FOR SURE! Which actually made the fact that I couldn’t prove the promises wrong even worse! It was a bitter sweet feeling as I actually didn’t want to prove them wrong either! Are you kidding, a primer which keeps foundation in place for 15 hours is my best friend! I just like testing the boundaries set out in advertising.

So I can safely say that no matter how many star jumps and sweating I did to try make this shift, it wouldn’t budge! My foundation stayed perfect for the full 15 hours!

Benefit Cosmetics Stay Flawless 15 hr primerOK so a bit about the product itself. It comes in a 15.5g stick which you twist up to dispense. The product itself feel very light and silky when smoothing on the skin.

When applying the product, don’t put too much on or you will struggle to actually blend your foundation. You will feel the product pulling back on foundation as you apply it, it almost feels like a glue. I found this product works best when you apply a few strokes over the main areas of your face and then smooth it out with your fingers to ensure that your foundation will be smooth and even when applied on top.

I have tried this foundation with a range of products and tools and on different  skin types. It works with both 0il and water-based foundations as well as cream foundations.

It works on all skin types. However, if you do suffer from oily skin and you feel you are still getting a bit of a shine in your t-zone with this primer, you could try a bit of Benefit’s other primer POREfessional in that area instead, it will help create a more matte effect.

Benefit Cosmetics Foundation BrushBenefit Cosmetic’s website, suggest using your fingers to apply your foundation over this product…. well you already know how I feel about that, USE A BRUSH! I found that synthetic fibre’s work much better over this primer than natural fibre’s. The Natural hair brushes create too much of a tug on your foundation with this primer and can leave your foundation a little streaky as a result. I recommend using either Benefit Cosmetic’s own Synthetic Foundation Brush or a MAC 187 Brush for a more airbrushed finish. If using the MAC brush, be careful not to put too much pressure on your brush, you want to blend with the white synthetic tips only. Check out my YouTube Video Here on Foundation Brushes for more info.

If you want to ensure the longevity of your foundation, always follow up with a powder to set it. Try out Benefit Cosmetics ‘Hello Flawless Powder’.

benefit logo

If you want your foundation to stay in place for a full day, you can purchase ‘Stay Flawless’ for £24.50 online at www.BenefitCostmetics.co.uk or www.BenefitCosmetics.com. Alternatively you can pop into any Benefit Counter to pick up this great primer.

Leave me a comment if you’ve tried it, I’d love to hear your thoughts too.

One response to “Product Review: Stay Flawless!

  1. Pingback: Product Review: Ciara Daly Makeup – Hero Foundation Brush | The Beauty Cloud

Leave a Reply

