Dress of the Month ~ July 2013

July has been Sale month at Cathedral Gowns, so my focus has moved from the newest dresses towards some of beautiful dresses who’ve been friends for a while! So this month’s favourite dress might not be with me for much longer, and I genuinely will be sad to say goodbye to her!

This beautiful gown is Karena, and she really is something special! A fantastic lace embroidered tulle gown complete with an amazing sheer tulle coat. From the moment I spotted a picture of this gown in the look book from the designer ‘Fara Sposa’ I knew I had to have it!

new2

The gown itself is strapless with a gently scooped sweetheart, and forms a semi fitted silhouette. What I love about this gown is that it is fitted long enough on the body to really showcase your shape and emphasise curves but since it flares out into a full skirt it has a real princessy feel. The best of both worlds! To really emphasise your curves I love the idea of adding a belt to this gown. Right now we have a fab floral lace textured belt that looks absolutely amazing on this dress.

The lace appliqués are arranged tightly to the top of the gown and gently fade out towards the hem. The gown features an invisible zipper closure which means the delicate lace continues almost seamlessly across the back of the gown. I am very tempted to add some satin covered buttons along the length of the zipper and right down the length of the train!

new1

The most spectacular and unusual part of this dress is the sheer coat! I absolutely adore it! In all my years in bridal I have never seen anything like it, it is so unique! The coat forms a gorgeous softly draped shape around the shoulders, and creates a fabulous V-neck plunging into a four button closure at the waist. The emphasis on the waist really works well to balance the width created at the shoulders. The coat then falls completely over the skirt of the dress, and the hem of the coat is trimmed in a gorgeous lace detail. I absolutely love it!

259699_293690420739129_518956247_o

I love that you have two looks in one and that the coat offers the perfect amount of shoulder and décolletage coverage for a church ceremony or a more demure bride, plus I just love the look! It feels very Grace Kelly, and I cannot wait to meet the bride who will wear her on her wedding day!

Now for some GREAT news, this dress is currently reduced from £1545 to only £795!

Leave a Reply

