Magnificent Monochrome Nails

“Is it spring yet? I need to get some brighter colours on my nails”. I have been asking this since taking off my silver sparkly Christmas polish in the New Year. There are only so many sultry shades I can cope with before they start bringing me down and I need a lift.

So, to keep my spirits up I excitedly looked through the New York and London Fashion Week pictures waiting to be inspired by the latest, most exciting, never seen before, nail trend…what a disappointment!

Simple Patterns, mixing shades, 3D add on’s, stripes, textured, sombre, boring, boring, boring.

Nails 1

Half moon manicure

Yaawn! The only thing that caught my eye as being in any way new and inspiring was the modern French manicure and the floating half-moon. Both individually not that pretty but put them together and I think were on to something.

BUT, it’s not enough – I’m still kidding myself that the brief break in the clouds means it’s pretty much spring and I should break out the pastels and maybe some glitter. I’m not sure if I can I continue with these darker shades without feeling completely “meh”?

However, just as I am about to cry into my laptop with despair, a desperate search of ‘nail art’ on Instagram saves the day…Baam!

There it is….Leona Lewis had smashed it with her nail look for the Grammys, a monochrome ‘checkmate’ manicure. I am totally in love with this look – it is elegant, stylish, sophisticated, new and if nails could speak they would be saying “we mean business”.

Nails 3

Leona’s fabulous nails were created by top celebrity manicurist, Kimmie Kyees whose handiwork has graced the nails of A-listers like Katy Perry, Rihanna, Selena Gomez and Britney Spears.

Leona’s look was created using Red Carpet Manicure, the first at-home LED gel manicure system. Kimmie Kyees used RCM’s White Hot and Black Stretch Limo to achieve Leona Lewis’ colour blocked gel manicure. Lewis’ celebrity manicurist first painted the whole nail with two coats of White Hot, and then with a striper brush, divided the nail into three sections, and filled in the sides with Black Stretch Limo.

Happy at last! Thank you Kimmie Kyees and Leona Lewis for these beautiful creations, I can’t wait to go and try them out.  Fingers crossed they look as amazing on my hands as they do on Leona’s….wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

