Sleepless Nights or Sweet Dreams?

“The last refuge of the insomniac is a sense of superiority to the sleeping world.”
Leonard Cohen

Dear Mind

Insomnia, or sleeplessness, is a sleep disorder in which there is an inability to fall asleep or to stay asleep as long as desired.

Recently, I have been having problems sleeping.  For the last few months I have been staying half-awake till 3am, having to write down thoughts that have been spinning around my head and stopping me from sleeping.

This lack of sleep has made me constantly tired and exhausted by life and the weather and time of year hasn’t helped – it is always seems to be dark.  Even a spot of sunshine would make a huge difference to how I feel about the day.

There are lots of different suggestions out there about how to tackle insomnia.  Over the years, I’ve developed my own coping mechanisms.

Sometimes, I think about the ocean and the sound of its waves hitting the shore. This really calms me down and brings a positive image into my head when I close my eyes. At other times I make warm milk or hot chocolate.  Unfortunately, no amount of hot milk can take away our everyday worries that can bombard our heads at night – the time of day we’re least able to tackle them.

AnxietyI’ve found that the best way to cope with worries is to address them head on and talk to other people about them.  This isn’t always easy but it’s worth it as being anxious at night affects our inner balance and peace.

Exercise can also help.  It gives us time to think about our problems and potential solutions. For me, cycling outside in the fresh air is the most effective way to solve issues.  It makes me feel alive and think straight as my heart pumps blood into those little grey cells, helping me to feel alert and fresh.  Then, by the time you’re ready to call it a night, your body is exhausted and craves only a hot shower and warm bed.

One response to “Sleepless Nights or Sweet Dreams?

  1. I really like your paragraphs about exercise. It is indeed a good way to relieve any stress or worry one may have, Paulina.
    Get out and hike in the Mountains and then listen around yourself! What do you hear?…… Nothing! 🙂
    I love the sound of the wind, the sea, the cool crisp air and respecting the environment. Even the cold, Arctic is somewhere I’m planning to go to.

    Also going for a cup of coffee and reading a book is a nice way to relax and live an austere life. Beware of becoming Rich because if one does, you would have “friends” you never had before and when you lose everything, then you’ll know who your friends really are.

Leave a Reply

